Reviews

Amazing!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
July 2016

This was the third time I stayed at this beautiful location. Everything was perfect! The penthouse was the perfect fit for our family of 6. The apartment is beautifully decorated, the open space is so inviting. The air-conditioned bedrooms were a welcome respite after long, glorious days in the sun. The beach was a very short walk away. Daily housekeeping was a treat and superbly done. I'm already checking my calendar to return to this piece of heaven!!

Better than they say!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
Mar 2016

We stayed at The Playa Las Ballenas Penthouse for nine nights in early April and it was simply wonderful – from the moment we arrived! Our family included our three children (12, 8 & 6) and my husband’s mother (86-years old) and the condo was fantastic! There was plenty of space for all six of us, comfortable places to hangout (for adults and kids), nice comfy beds, beautiful views, great location, great pool, great access to the beach and some nearby beach restaurants (fun with yummy food and drinks) and amenities that made our stay perfect (laundry and hot tub are a plus)! We are not the all inclusive type and really enjoy having a low key breakfast as the kids wake up at different times, while we are able to enjoy coffee, a book and a great view – the deck near the kitchen was our “go to” space (also worked for enjoying rum punch after the kids went to bed)! Most mornings were then spent at the pool, which was an easy walk, warm and easy to enter/exit (zero entry on one end) and never busy! Our afternoons consisted of sailing and hanging out on Playa Bellenas or other nearby beaches (Playa Bonita – surfing, Punta Popi – near town, etc). We also did some really fun excursions through both Arena Tours and Flora Tours (both located in town) and they picked us up right outside the condo. If we wanted to stay near the condo for dinner, we needed to eat early at Sol y Mar (they were usually closing up by 5pm) or a beach shack just a little further down the beach (our favorite) owned by a French guy and he would stay open until after 6pm for us (great shrimp, fish, chicken and pasta – which he would make plain for picky 6-year old)! OR, we simply drove to town and ate at one of the many great places! There were plenty of other places that would have been about a 20-minute walk from the condo, but would have been a little too far for grandma. In-between the Sol y Mar and the French shack is another shack which had awesome mojitos (which we would get to go and enjoy while building sandcastles). We rarely find a place (both location and lodging) that we would want to revisit in the near future; however, we believe we will be back to this condo within the next five years!

A Little Slice of Heaven

★★★★★
Date of Stay
March 2016

The home met all of our expectations and they were set very high! We originally booked the chef services so were greeted by a delicious smell of baking flan and fresh Pina Coladas. We had the services for lunch and dinner that day, but we decided to cook for ourselves for the week. We also took advantage of some of the wonderful restaurants in town. We found ourselves at the fish market twice during our stay and cooked some wonderful Red Snapper on the fantastic grill. Alita was a sweet and hard working housekeeper. She was delightful to be around and kept the place neat and orderly during our stay. We appreciated the mid-week bed sheet change and hot tub cleaning. Elodie and Jacques were so easy to work with and very accommodating during our stay. We enjoyed using our own limited knowledge of the Spanish language while getting around the town as well. Las Terrenas lacks the usual touristy feel of the Islands and that was a wonderful benefit of the location. The proximity of the pool and the beach could not have been better. We could watch our kids swim from the balcony of the residence and felt safe as the residence is guarded 24 hours a day. Watching the sunset a few nights from the beach was the highlight of the trip. We rented ATVs that were conveniently picked up and dropped off for us at the residence. I just wish we chose to do that more than one day! It was so much fun and great to have the freedom to drive around. I definitely recommend the area and the home whether traveling with friends or your family. We were with our young kids ages 6 and 10 and it was perfect! Just as the pictures present!

2 weeks in paradise!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
Dec 2015

We loved it! The penthouse was clean, spacious, just as the pictures describe. It is a beautiful place, lots of open air, high ceilings, and we could hear the the calm ocean waves and wind blowing on the palms. Paradise! The kitchen space was top notch, the large patios a delight for reading and sunning during the day, and playing cards in the evening. The outdoor grill was fantastic! The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms and closets large and updated. It was nice to have air conditioning units in each of the bedrooms as well. There were plenty of towels, dishes and seating options for our whole group of 10. Alida and her daughter were wonderful. Not only were they pleasant to have around, they were hard working, and the meals they cooked were delicious! We had her cook twice. Once with fish and once with pork chops. Both meals were terrific. The location of the penthouse was perfect, just off from the busy town, gated and within walking distance to a beautiful calm beach. We really enjoyed the gorgeous views, the beach, the large and well kept pool and sailing club amenities. The security and grounds crew were very good and friendly as well. We got locked out one day and they even were kind enough to help us get back in. The town of Las Terrenas was a fun change dotted with so many interesting, picturesque and yummy restaurant options. Our favorites were Pizza Azul, El Lugar, and La Terrasse. For a good burger, One Love Surf Shack was good and the owner Terry spoke English and was a wealth of information about the area. We took a day trip to La Playa Bonita which I would highly recommend. It is only a 20min drive and the kids really loved the big waves, perfect for learning to surf. For excursions we used Flora Tours and went by boat to the mangroves and caves. We also went zip-lining in Samana which was a highlight for the kids. Our only critique would be of the tennis court on site. If you are avid players you may want to head in to town and use the courts there run by Fabrice. If you are used to an all-inclusive type stay this place would not be for you, but if you are wanting a more remote, laid-back experience this would be the place! We really enjoyed our two week stay at the penthouse. It is a special place, and we will cherish the memories we made there!

Vacaciones para repetir mil veces!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
Oct 2015

Fueron diez días inolvidables un un rincón del paraíso!. Disfrutamos cada momento, al punto que mis hijas me pidieron quedarse a vivir allí. El penthouse es maravilloso: amplio, amueblado con mucho estilo, construido con muy buenos materiales. Todo funciona, todo muy cómodo, todo muy limpio. El lugar no podría ser más lindo: ventanales que se abren al mar, al jardín y la piscina del condominio y a la vegetación tropical exuberante. El silencio es un protagonista delicioso, que ayuda al descanso. Todo está dispuesto para disfrutar cada momento. Halida resultó ser una excelente cocinera, siempre dispuesta con su sonrisa inolvidable!. Y Jacques un excelente administrador del condominio, siempre listo para solucionar cualquier mínimo inconveniente. La playa, el lugar, la casa, la gente, todo superó nuestras expectativas y aunque apenas estamos de regreso, ya estamos planeando cuando volver!. Muy, muy recomendable!

Vacaciones inolvidables!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
July 2015

Hemos pasado unas vacaciones espectaculares en el penthouse de Bonita Village!!!. La ubicacion es unica , frente al gran jardin del complejo , a pocos metros de una de las mejores playas de Las Terrenas, rodeado de una vegetacion exuberante. El penthouse es tal cual aparece en las fotografias, con la mejor vista desde sus terrazas y una comodidad que supero ampliamente nuestras expectativas . Esta todo dispuesto para que el visitante se sienta como en su casa y pueda disfrutar al maximo su estadia. Volveremos a Las Terrenas, y volveremos sin dudar al penthouse !!!!

Wonderful beach stay with family and friends

★★★★★
Date of Stay
June 2015

Our group of eight people thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful, spacious, and very clean penthouse. The Ballenas Beach, being a two-minute walk was a dream. There is also a swimming pool in the complex especially nice for night swimming. The penthouse offers everything you might want to have during your holiday, including bottled water. There are several outdoor spaces that are great for admiring the lush surroundings and star gazing at night. Listening to the birds chirping from the balcony's rocking chair was one of my favorite things. Alida, our housekeeper, was such a nice lady. She tidied up the place every morning. We enjoyed talking to her and eating her meals several times for a nominal fee. Being that the penthouse is far from the center of town, several nights we hired a taxi. We loved the rhythm of this lively town.There are many shops, and small restaurants to explore, lots of them right on the beach.Our two favorite places to hang out and take it all in were Paco Cabana (best mojitos in town and live trio), and Mojitos (second best mojitos and great music!). They both served good food! Visiting Coson Beach and eating a seafood lunch on the beach was also a hit. We would certainly recommend the penthouse to anyone thinking about Las Terrenas. The whole booking process was easy and management was attentive. Hope to return sometime soon!

Penthouse de rêve

★★★★★
Date of Stay
Feb 27 –Mar 7, 2015

Nous avons adorez notre séjour chez-vous. Le penthouse offre une vue à couper le souffle sur la piscine et l’océan. L’endroit est calme sans trop d’achalandage. Le penthouse est d’une grandeur idéale pour 3 couples qui peuvent avoir chacun leur chambre avec chambre de bain privé. Les lits sont confortables. Il est agréable d’avoir deux terrasses permettant ainsi plus d’intimité si désiré. C’est bien qu’il y ait un accueil fait par Jacques qui fait le tour des différents appareils électroniques en nous expliquant le fonctionnement. Après seulement quelques minutes, nous nous sentions comme chez-nous. Nous sommes des gens qui aiment faire à manger, ce que nous avons fait nous même. Cependant le fait que toute la vaisselle soit laver par les femmes de ménage (Alida et ses compagnes) fut fort apprécié. Elles ont aussi tenu la maison très propre. Les lits toujours bien faits, le balai passé, etc. Les électro fonctionnent bien, la machine à café fait de très bons expressos. Le chauffeur de taxi (Willie) qui est venu nous chercher à l’aéroport était très sympathique et nous avons fait affaire avec lui à plusieurs reprises. Nous partions faire l’épicerie avec lui, il nous attendait tout le long de nos emplettes. Fort apprécié.

Five days in paradise

★★★★★
Date of Stay
Feb 23-27, 2015

This Penthouse was exceptional. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Every room was equipped with all that was promised. My friends and I had a wonderful time in this beach house. We were provided with towels and drinking water. The contact personnel was very professional. We loved the location and felt safe at all times. We will be back with other friends. The jacuzzi was superb. The pictures provided are exactly the way this home looks. Amazing vacation!

Huge apartment with a great cook/housekeeper

★★★★
Date of Stay
Feb 7-15, 2015

Our group of 6 were overly impressed with the size of this apartment! All of us were comfortable with a terrace at each end of the flat for different groups, and huge bedrooms.
This flat is far away from the village though, so while walking is an option (25 min walk), you can take moped rides, or a taxi for shopping.
In regards to eating whilst you are there, I would highly recommend you have Alida cook for you. She cooked goat, pork, and chicken on three separate occasions. My only regret is we did not buy more food so we could have more leftovers! I would also recommend going to shop at Lido; they will deliver if your bill is over 100 USD

Gorgeous property, fantastic vacation!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
Dec 27, 2014 - Jan 3, 2015

We loved everything about our stay at the penthouse. The view, size of the unit & the super close location to the beautiful beach & town were all perfect for our party of 7. We really enjoyed trips to town on our rented quads & scooters.(Highly recommend) We also had fun with the free kayak & paddle board rental included with the penthouse, the private hot tub on our patio & meeting many interesting people at the large pool in front of the building.
The management company AIC, owner Elliot & our cleaning woman, Aleda, we're all very helpful & responsive whenever we needed help with anything. We had Aleda cook dinner twice for us. The food was delicious & it was so nice to have someone cook & clean up for us after.
The pictures of the view & actual unit are all spot on. It really does look like that! The weather was almost perfect our entire trip, low to mid 80'S and it only rained part of one day. We did use AIC to secure our transfers to & from the airport & our drivers were both super nice & stayed with us at all times, helping us along as we toured Santo Domingo prior to arriving in Las Terrenas. The people of Las Terrenas, both the locals & other travelers, were very kind & interesting to talk to.
In summary, our group of 40 year old lifelong friends loved the entire area of Las Terrenas and found the penthouse to be the perfect hub for our vacation. El Limon waterfall, Pueblo de Los Pescadores restaurants & Playa Bonita were all close by & easy to reach. We loved the penthouse & plan on returning soon!

Reality really lives up to the photos!


Date of Stay
Dec 20-27, 2014

We stayed in the penthouse for 10 days in September and had a wonderful time!
We had a wonderful stay at the Penthouse. Too many times, the reality does not live up to the photos on the websites, but in this case it really did; Everything was exactly as described. Plenty of room for our party of 5. Beautiful interiors and surroundings and of course ideal to be so close to the beach! I would not hesitate to recommend your penthouse to any of my friends.

Wonderful place to vacation away from the crowds!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
Aug 31-Sep 10, 2014

We stayed in the penthouse for 10 days in September and had a wonderful time!
It is definitely a plus if you speak the language, but we got by knowing just a few Spanish words. If you are looking for an all-inclusive resort, the penthouse may not be for you, but if you prefer to be away from the crowds and do your own thing then definitely book this place. I was going to take pics of the place and view to bring home and realized they all looked exactly like the photos that made us want to take our honeymoon here, so rest assured you aren't being scammed and the pictures aren't from 20 years ago. Also, it truly includes all amenities and is just as large as it looks on the website.
The beach is maybe a 4 min walk from the apartment and is far removed from the hustle and bustle closer to the town. It is simply picturesque! There are a few restaurants within walking distance but be sure to find out when they are open as they have odd hours from "an uncultured American's point of view". The supermarket is easy to get to by car if you would like to cook yourselves, but I would recommend that you have Alida cook at least one night for you. Her food was delicious and she did everything from buying the food, to serving it, to cleaning up all the dishes afterwards and putting the leftovers in containers in the fridge for you. On top of that, it is super reasonable as you only pay for the food and a small fee for her cooking service.
Overall, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend the penthouse to anyone looking for a place to stay in Las Terrenas.

Top notch


Date of Stay
Aug 16-30, 2014

Our stay at the penthouse was terrific. We did not take advantage of sailing club but everything was top notch. Your manager addressed an issue with the BBQ Grill quickly and after that all was serene. Alida and her crew were fabulous.
We are planning to return next year.

Extremely happy!!


Date of Stay
Aug 2-16, 2014

The entire group was extremely happy and satisfied with the location. The penthouse was great. Cleaning service was exceptional and food and entertainment was very conveniently located. Overall, the penthouse turned out to be exactly what we saw on the website, there were no disappointments. Thanks to you we had a great vacation, would do it again and would be happy to recommend your facility to anyone interested in a Las Terrenas vacation.

Will be back!


Date of Stay
July 19-Aug 2, 2014

The penthouse was a great pleasure for us and the hospitality was even better. Andreas, Jacques, Allida, and Selena were outstanding. We will highly recommend your place to our friends and will be back one day. Thanks.

Fantastic Vacation!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
May 21-28, 2014

We loved the condo! Our driver picked us up at the airport and brought us to the condo, then brought us to get pizza and refreshments at 10:00pm. Our housekeeper was amazing, she took good care of us and cooked us two fabulous meals. You can't beat the view, and the location. We would definitely recommend this location! Recommended for:Adventure Seekers,  Girls Getaway,  Families with Teenagers,  Romantic Getaway

Excellent!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
May 14-17, 2014

Beautiful apartment in gated community near the beach. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The beach area close to the condo is quiet and beautiful. There is a nice small restaurant that provides beach-side service and lots of first class restaurants further down the beach. The setting was perfect for us - relatively quiet area, about 1 minute on foot to the beach. I cant wait to go back. Based on my experience, I would highly recommend this property.

Ese lugar es como el paraíso en la tierra super


Date of Stay
Apr 15-18, 2014

Hola mi nombre es Rafael Sosa hemos pasado 3 noches en este penthouse y puedo decirle que es como estar en un hotel 5 estrellas o algo más.
Este penthouse está ubicado en una de las mejores zona de Las Terrenas la vista que tiene desde la sala hacía fuera no tiene precio,es grande y muy confortable para estar con 3 parejas y niños.
El equipo de persona que trabajan allí son excelente,la persona que se encarga del penthouse es muy amable y trata de el cliente se sienta como en su casa.
A las señora que hacen la limpieza y la cocina doy un 10/10 son unas personas muy humildes y cocinan como gentes profesionales. Estoy muy feliz de haber pasado 3 noches con un grupo de 8 personas en este penthouse,ya estoy mirando una nueva fecha para regresar.
Doy las gracias al propietario Elliot Marti por ser tan amable.
Espero que usted que está buscando un lugar donde pasar sus vacaciones valla a este lugar.
Muchas gracias.
Rafael Sosa.

Value: 5/5
Rooms: 5/5
Location: 5/5
Cleanliness: 5/5
Service: 5/5

Great place, superb location, wish we stayed longer


Date of Stay
Mar 26-Apr 2, 2014

Our group of 5 had a wonderful vacation. The condo is fantastic. It is clean and well equipped, The view is amazing! We took advantage of the cooking services by alida for 3 dinners during our stay and we recommend it! The food was great and we got to taste authentic local meals.
The beach is perfect, not crowded at all, clean, and you can go long walks!
There are many nice restaurants at walking distance from the condo.
Our only regret is that we did stay long enough... we are planning to come back next year, this time for 2 weeks.

We would rent again

★★★★★
Date of Stay
February 4-14, 2014

In early February we rented the penthouse to call home while on vacation in Las Terrenas. This proved a better decision than expected. The facility was spacious, comfortable, and nicely appointed; the gated complex was well kept with security around the clock. Our housekeeper was wonderful and wiling to cook if we wished. The kitchen was large enough for several cooks and well thought out. The partially covered terraces on either side of the unit great for appreciation of the breezes, dining alfresco, game playing, or sun bathing. The setting itself was also ideal. The ocean and beach accessible by a paved path, the saltwater pool another option for swimming. When inside it was easy to forget there were other units in the complex; one felt surrounded by the nature of the area and we particularly enjoyed watching the land crabs scurry in and out of their unique abodes. Although we enjoyed the quiet relaxed atmosphere of the penthouse location, we believed we were close enough to town and rented ATVs, which we would recommend in favor of a car, for our rides back and forth. We would rent this unit again. Elizabeth
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

By far the best in Las Terrenas


Date of Stay
Jan 25- Feb 1, 2014

I absolutely loved the esthetics and comfort of the penthouse. It's fabulously equipped. We enjoyed the beach and pool very much and the view is wonderful...
I have visited Las Terrenas several times and your property is by far the best I have had the pleasure to stay in so far...
You have a wonderful penthouse and I thank you for allowing us to enjoy it

Breathtakingly Beautiful!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
January 11-18, 2014

My wife and I picked this property to enjoy our honeymoon. Wow! The pictures do not do it justice. The full immersion experience with the ocean waves breaking in the distance, slight breezes kissing your skin no matter where you are within the home, and the breathtaking views throughout are memorable and therapeutically relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed the open feel of the home, the beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms, the modern kitchen, the hot tub, and evenings on the patio with wine and cheese. The on-site restuarant was a surprise, Sooooo good and amazingly affordable. Days were spent exploring Las Terrrenas and other areas of the island when we felt adventurous and if not, we took a short stroll to the beach and relaxed in loungers while a beachfront bar and restaurant right outside the property brough us ice-cold drinks. Elliot, thank you so much for sharing this amazing home with us. Michel displayed the utmost pride and professionalism with his expertese and expeditious responses to all my inquiries.Thank you as well!

We had a wonderful family vacation!

★★★★
Date of Stay
Dec 28, 2013-Jan 4, 2014

Beautiful view! Gorgeous beach! Pretty condo. Very well done. Short drive into Las Terrenas where there are lots of wonderful restaurants! We experienced a bit of a language barrier as we only speak english and most in the area speak spanish or french. Fortunately our older daughter speaks some french so we muddled through. The condo was pretty clean but is showing some signs of wear/usage. The laundry facilities were poor. Upon our arrival, not everything was working but the property managers did their best to fix everything promptly. Rave reviews for Miss Alice our concierge!! She arranged for all of our groceries to be in fridge and waiting for us when we arrived. She also arranged and helped prepare 2 delicious 3 course meals for us! They were spectacular!!
Lots of fun excursions to choose from! We enjoyed a visit to El Limon waterfall and an all day catamaran ride with snorkeling & a visit to Bacardi Island(also gorgeous)!! Would recommend!!

Beaucoup apprécié !


Date of Stay
December 21-28, 2013

Nous avons beaucoup apprécié notre séjour dans votre penthouse. L'emplacement est très sympathique. Les personnes de l'agence sont très aimables. La femme de ménage est très serviable. En conclusion: vous avez bien choisi votre logement à Las Ballenas!

One of the best places we ever stayed


Date of Stay
Oct 27-Nov 10, 2013

We had a really nice time in your penthouse. One of the best places we ever stayed.
The service was very good and the beaches and the city of Las Terrenas as well.
We will come back
Many thanks for everything!

Great Place, just like in the pictures

★★★★
Date of Stay
October 25-27, 2013

I'm a dominican and I've been to a lot of places and rented different properties in DR. This place is just what you see in the pictures. It is huge, looks great, clean and organized. The kitchen is amazing with everything you need. Rooms all have A/C, it is 3 rooms with double beds, so 6 people can sleep comfortable. We used the sofa bed and inflatable mattress to accommodate a couple people more. These are available at the property. You have 1 TV on the living area with cable, a Jacuzzi that works great on one terrace and lots of furniture to sit around and have dinner. We used the gas grill twice to cook meals, everything worked great.
The service of AIC, the company that manages the property was great, good communication and service. We had a problem with the A/C and they quickly sent over a technician that got it fixed. They even provided a wireless router so we could have Wi-Fi.
The pool was well maintained and the property is steps from the beach. The beach was clean with clear water, very nice.
Notice that this property is at the end side of Ballenas Beach, so if you want to go to the town Pueblo Los Pescadores to get food or go out you will need to drive about 5 min.
I will definitely be back, told all my friends about it.

Unforgettable Spot

★★★★★
Date of Stay
August 15-22, 2013

We had a truly wonderful time in the penthouse. Our family loved having room to spread out and enjoy the open, beautiful views from so many spots. The pool was fabulous, and the proximity of the beach was perfect. We went snorkeling out front every morning, which was a real treat. The woman who cleaned was terrific. It’s a very special spot, and our time there was unforgettable.
Recommended for: Age 55+,  Girls Getaway,  Sightseeing,  Families with Teenagers,  Families with Young Children,  Romantic Getaway

Loved it!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
August 10-21, 2013

We stayed in July 2013. Fantastic stay. Beautiful penthouse & great location. Loved everything especially the housekeepers!

Just Another Day in Paradise

★★★★★
Date of Stay
August 24-31, 2013

My family and I spent a marvelous week at this elegant property and have not stopped raving about our stay to family and friends. The penthouse itself is spacious and well equipped with 4 sliding doors that look out over the pool, beach and out into the sea. The cook, recommended by the manager, prepared a scrumptious lunch, which we enjoyed each day on one of the two terraces. We primarily used our rented quad to ride into town for shopping, and to go out to dinner on several days. My in-law’s, who live in the DR, came up for a few days and we used their car to get around when we were going out with a larger group. We found several restaurants we enjoyed, nearby. There were plenty of things to do in an around town, including scuba diving, kayaking, day trips to Limon or simply walking along the beach. We are already planning to return next year and to extend our stay to 2 weeks.

PARADIS

★★★★★
Date of Stay
July 20 – Aug 3, 2013

Un seul mot en fait : PARADIS Le penthouse etait parfait , un tres bon niveau de prestation, une decoration parfaite et un cadre fabuleux Tous les matins nous nous regalions de la vue et pouvoir emprunter le long couloir avec vue directe sur le lagon ! Las Terrenas est un village authentique, sympa Enfin l'agence a ete parfaite : accueillante, presente si besoin
Marielle C.

Tres bon sejour


Date of Stay
July 6-20, 2013

Nous avons passé un très bon séjour dans votre penthouse de Las Terrenas (superbe). La péninsule de Samana est magnifique et Las Terrenas/Bonita Village nous a beaucoup plu. Les services du gestionnaire sur place ont également été très professionnels. Nous n'hésiterons pas à vous recontacter si nous revenons en RD.

We very much enjoyed our stay


Date of Stay
June 29 - July 6, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay: the penthouse is beautiful - beautifully decorated, really well equipped, and incredibly spacious with great indoor and outdoor spaces. The rental company you use is very professional and the cleaners were really great. We loved Las Terrenas also.

One of the most beautiful rentals we stayed in!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
June 22nd-28th, 2013

We stayed June 22-28th-it was absolutely one of the most beautiful rental homes we have stayed in! The views were breathtaking and the condominium itself was just beautiful. It had all of the amenities needed and more! The staff that greeted us and helped with the upkeep during the week were just wonderful and made us feel so much at home. The town is absolutely lovely with incredible restaurants and the people were all so friendly. We will DEFINITELY be back again! Thank you to everyone for such an incredible vacation.
Sharon P.

Beautiful!


Date of Stay
June 15-22, 2013

We had a wonderful family vacation at the penthouse. Everything about it is very beautiful. The furnishings, the views from the terraces, the bedrooms, the kitchen, the pool, and especially the beach. Michel helped us with transportation to and from the airport and was available throughout the week for any questions we had. We also enjoyed shopping and dining in Las Terrenas.
We hope to come back again soon.
Steven S.

Everything was far above our expectations


Date of Stay
June 8-15, 2013

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay at your penthouse. It is amazing! Everything was far above our expectations. We were late arriving in Las Terrenas due to flight delays, but Jacques was very accommodating to meet us and escort us to the home. He was available throughout the week for anything that came up. Alida did an incredible job of cleaning and preparing meals when requested. She was great. Again, thank you and your place was great. We loved Las Terrenas. We look forward to coming back.
Jack G.

Priceless experience!


Date of Stay
June 1-7, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home in Las Terrenas! The stay was amazing. The experience was priceless. When I found your place on the Internet I fell in love with it but was nervous not knowing what to expect from the surroundings. It went above and beyond my expectations! From the hills in the background to the beautiful beaches, brick road, great service, great restaurants....AMAZING! Great cook and great house keeper! Nicholas our tour guide was the best. He was so helpful and so much fun! Jacques was great also ! I can't wait to go back! My only complaint is that our stay was too short!!
Thanks again
Kelli B.

The penthouse was perfect


Date of Stay
May 1-11, 2013

We had a beautiful and relaxing stay at your Penthouse in Las Terrenas. The penthouse was perfect, very comfortable and the views were breathtaking. Loved the double patios. The kitchen was so modern and well equipped. Furniture comfortable, beautiful dark woods and beds were very good. Loved the spacious bathrooms and with 4 daughters that was a big plus. Appreciated the screens in the bedrooms with air conditioning. We had plenty of room for all of us and thank you for the baby crib. The property manager was quick to respond to any concerns we had about the penthouse. He organized our transportation and accommodations so we had no worries about getting around. Everyone was so helpful and made our stay all the more relaxing. The restaurant “Spoon Beach”had delicious food and so convenient. The pool was excellent and we used it everyday. It was perfect for our grandson, because it was so shallow at one end we could all sit together and play in the water. We of course also enjoyed the white sand beach at the ocean. We appreciated the security at the complex, although we never felt uncomfortable about our surroundings or during our trips to town. A most special thank you to the ladies, Alida and Sol, they were so kind and diligent and made us delicious meals for breakfast and also one spectacular dinner. I would recommend them to anyone staying at the penthouse. We have traveled as a couple and as a family to many “resorts” yet my family agrees that this was our best and most beautiful, relaxing vacation . Many many thanks to you for making this penthouse available for us to enjoy.
Inta Z.

Amazing stay!


Date of Stay
April 11-16, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the penthouse! The accommodations were perfect. Michel and Alida were both very helpful. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy the beauty of Las Terrenas from your property.
Teresa L.

Penthouse

★★★★★
Date of Stay
March 31, 2013

The second I walked into the penthouse my jaw dropped in disbelief that this was mine for the week. The pictures on the website do not do the full justice for how great this place was. I have never been on a vacation where I felt content every second of the day. I would come to the Dominican Republic again just to stay at the Penthouse. My daily routine went like this: espresso, pool, ocean, hot tub, espresso, lunch, cigar, ocean, market, prepare dinner for 6, drinks, and hot tub. Every morning the staff would have the place looking like it did when we first showed up. One of the most memorable experiences in my life. It would be regretful to pass up on an opportunity to stay at the Penthouse.

We had a great time in Las Terrenas

★★★★★
Date of Stay
March 28th-31st, 2013

We had a great time in Las Terrenas. The penthouse was beautiful, and Sol and her aunt were great housekeepers as well.Hopefully we can come back again.
Jordan

We enjoyed every moment

★★★★★
Date of Stay
March 21st-28th, 2013

We had a lovely stay in your penthouse! We enjoyed every moment of our time in the D.R. We hope to be able to go back another time! Thank you so much for allowing us the use of your lovely penthouse.
Best Regards,
Cammie and Family

Lost in Paradise

★★★★★
Date of Stay
February 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived after sunset to find that Michel, the apartment manager, had arranged that food for the following morning's breakfast had been left in the fridge, our stay in the penthouse was lovely. When we opened the windows and doors in the morning, the warm ocean breeze flowed in from a view even more spectacular than the website pictures can show. The high ceilings, large rooms, comfortable beds, ( although air conditioning is available we found that the ceiling fans kept us cool), layout openness, gleaming wood floor and spacious terraces make this an ideal place to stay. It is a spotlessly clean, well maintained apartment located in a very quiet gated enclave. As my daughter, friend and I left our husbands at home, we were at first a little hesitant about walking the couple of km from town in the dark after eating out there, but that worry proved to be unwarranted - we were perfectly safe. We walked to several very good restaurants. We also enjoyed the delicious, very reasonably priced dinners provided by the chef at the outdoor restaurant on the premises. We did find there were mosquitoes when outdoors at night, but with mosquito repellant lotion containing deet, they were not bothersome. Michel, who is fluent in English, French and Spanish, also arranged our transportation to and from the airport and into town to get groceries. This was very helpful as most local people we encountered spoke little English and our Spanish and French were limited. In spite of that, we found them to be very warm, smiling and friendly. We did take an ipad with us and had been forewarned by a friend who lives in Santo Domingo that the internet service in the country is not reliable 24 hours a day and we found that to be the case. Before our trip we thought that we would want to rent a car to do excursions to El Limon and the closest national park, but we found that we were quite content to walk the beach, swim in the ocean, and use the pool. The length of the pool was a real bonus as we could actually swim 25m before turning around. In conclusion, the three of us would recommend this property without hesitation, and we daily commented on the beauty of its location within Las Terrenas - a stay which, in spite of the complete description and beautiful pictures on the website, exceeded our expectations. It is a true slice of paradise!

Quiet Paradise!

★★★★
Date of Stay
January 22, 2013

Truly a lovely large penthouse with large terraces, beautiful views and miles of beach to enjoy. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation away from the crowds this is the place. You will not find crowds here. The fishing village is a beautiful 2 km beach walk. This is the perfect location if you like to avoid the crowded resort experience. There is a variety of restaurants and cafés in the fishing village as well as a very good restaurant next door to the penthouse. There are tours, hiking, fishing trips etc. that can be arranged in the village. The owner and property manager were very helpful when planning our travel and stay at the penthouse. We definitely recommend this vacation home for a family or group.

Our stay in your penthouse was fabulous

★★★★★
Date of Stay
December 22, 2012

Our stay in your penthouse in Las Terranas was fabulous. We had a fantastic time with no complaints. The staff of the complex, including the housekeeper, were very kind and helpful. The restaurant and its staff were wonderful as well. We rented a car for the week and got to see the other beaches in the area. We enjoyed our Christmas in the Caribbean so much so that we hope to do it again in the years to come.

Perfect place for a week or a month

★★★★★
Date of Stay
November 17, 2012

Ideal location for a home base on the peninsula of Las Terrenas. Beautiful condo and surrounding - fully stocked, grill, bottled water, wifi, spacious enough for 3 couples with privacy, great kitchen, and very relaxing private outdoor spaces. The grounds are kept immaculate - and the pool area is extremely clean and relaxing. Stone's throw to a beautiful and quiet beach. Las Terrenas (the town) itself can be quite busy and confusing for newcomers - but you get used to it in a day or two. One of the best qualities of Elliot's condo is that it's a 5 minute drive from all of that - so once you get your shopping (grocery, fish market on the beach, etc.) done and back home, it's very relaxing and private. If you drive here (which we did from Santo Domingo - 2.5 hours all in), plan on leaving your car at the condo and order/arrange for scooters or ATVs - much much easier to get to/from town, park, shop, etc. Highly recommend a few things in the area: Playa Coson is amazing (and accessible by ATV) and you must have lunch at the restaurant "The Beach" there; a day trip to Samana / Cayo Levantado (boat) is well worth the time and trip; the restaurant at the condo itself is also very good; the breakfast/lunch meals at the beach 'shacks' are as good if not better than the hotel or town restaurants and are walkable. Overall, great trip and great condo with all the amenities including an extremely helpful house manager on site in Las Terrenas. Only complaint is that we had to leave.....

Presque trois semaines de rêve !!!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
August 20, 2012

Presque trois semaines de rêve !!! voilà comment qualifier notre séjour à Las Terrenas de cet été et cela malgré un peu d’orages et de pluies... Le logement que nous avons loué était à la hauteur de nos attentes. Arrivés la nuit après 24h de voyage nous avons apprécié de dormir dans des chambres meublées avec goût, climatisées avec des salles de bain dignes des plus grands hôtels 5* sans oublier de mentionner l'accueil de Jacques, très sympathique et très présent durant tout le séjour. Au matin nous avons découvert la situation de notre Penthouse au milieu d'une verdure et d'un paysage époustouflant à 2 pas d'une plage de rêve et donc les vacances commencèrent pour nous au milieu de ce site paradisiaque et au sein d'une communauté pleine de gentillesse....les enfants ont adoré ....Nous reviendrons sûrement Karima, Djamel, Tamani et Nacim.

Un sueño realizado

★★★★★
Date of Stay
July 6, 2012

Mis mejores vacaciones! Este penthouse lo tiene todo, comodidad,lujo, vista panorámica,servicios, tranquilidad,playas estupendas. Así como se ve en las fotos,así mismo de real es este lugar,,, se lo recomiendo al 100x200.Éramos en 10 personas 5 adultos y 5 niños la pasamos super bien en este departamento q maravilloso es poco decir. Las personas con las q tratas para alquilar este penthouse son personas serias y de palabra,primero de alquilarlo surgieron en mi muchas dudas y no creí hasta ver con mis ojos. No te venden sueños te vende cosas reales. Quede muy agradecida y muy contenta xq el dinero q gaste en esa semana fue muy bien gastado,cuando quiero revivir esas vacaciones miro las fotos,cierro los ojos y comienzo a volar :-) seguramente la repetiremos.

Excelente! Divino realmente!

★★★★★
Date of Stay
June 21, 2012

Estuvimos el pasado fin de semana en el apartamento, y verdaderamente es una maravilla, nos encanto!!! Es espacioso, super equipado, todo esta en excelentes condiciones, como nuevo! Las habitaciones super confortables y lindas, cada habitacion tiene su aire acondicionado, los equipos de la cocina estan nuevos, la vista desde el apartamento es simplemente bella, la piscina es grande y excelente tanto para adultos como para bebes, la playa es hermos, realmente quedamos mas que complacidos con nuestra estadia en el penthouse y pensamos regresar muy pronto!!!! Fue un fin de semana espectacular!!!!

Excellent place!!!!

★★★★
Date of Stay
June 4, 2012

I got to spend a whole week in Las Terrenas with my children and another couple. A great place to stay. The penthouse is beautifully decorated and fully equipped. It is very spacious and comfortable. The location is excellent, close to most amenities nearby yet it is very private and secure. It is right in front of a great beach. The service was very good and the cleaning lady is a plus. Las Terrenas is one of the best places in the Dominican Republic, the beaches are amazingly beautiful and most of them are 10 minutes away like Portillo, Coson and Playa Bonita. There are lots of places and things to do in Samana like Cayo Levantado, Playa Rincon, Los Haitises, Taino Park, Salto El Limon etc. There are lots of great restaurants around and the Zip Line in Samana is awesome. I definetly recommend this penthouse for the beach lovers and for those that love nature and peace. It is great for families and couples looking for a romantic scape.

Séjour fantastique dans un cadre superbe

★★★★★
Date of Stay
May 19, 2012

Nous étions plusieurs amis à séjourner dans ce très bel appartement, où tout ce qu'on pouvait attendre était au rendez-vous, notamment un temps superbe. Beaucoup d'espace, décor luxueux, très belle piscine, plage magnifique au bord de la résidence où l'on peut faire de longues promenades (pensez à aller acheter votre poisson aux etals de bord de mer!). Je vous recommande chaudement ce superbe endroit où nous avons passé de magnifiques vacances!

Splendid rooftop apartment and stunning location

★★★★★
Date of Stay
May 5, 2012

We stayed at the Penthouse on Playa Las Ballenas in May and spent amazing holidays, which my family and I will remember forever. The apartment is splendid, full of charm, very spacious, very well equipped, beautifully decorated. It really feels like a villa, very private and intimate. The view on the garden and the beach is absolutely stunning. And we had everything we could dream of to enjoy very special holidays: a postcard-like yet very quiet beach, a large and quiet pool in the tropical garden, very nice restaurants with surprisingly good food and all amenities nearby. While we were a bit scared we could end up just staying at the beach for a week, we discovered lots of attractions to enjoy the gorgeous nature surrounding Las Terrenas (horse back to the spectacular El Limon waterfall, scuba diving in caves, quad in the forest, magnificent beaches…). So we really had the perfect balance of rest and adventure, which is perfect for people tired of tourist factories like us. This penthouse is a real gem we are so glad we have uncovered, we’ll be back!

Contact Information

We will be happy to answer any questions you may have. Please use the form in the Contact and access section or contact us using the details provided here. In case you can’t reach us directly, please leave us a message with your details and we will get back to you.


©2015 All rights reserved - The Playa Las Ballenas Penthouse